Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Text Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 16, 2010

2010 All-District: 13-4A

For Sherman's Nathan James, who has played in the shadow of his older brother TCU's Waymon James for most of his life, it's his time in the spotlight.

James rewrote the Sherman high school receiving records in just about every category during an outstanding season and was named the District 13-4A MVP.

James was a threat to run, with two rushing TDs this season, and a dangerous kick returner, with two runbacks for scores as well. James plays cornerback on defense in Sherman's nickel and dime packages.

Texas High All-purpose back Kody Sutton was named the District Offensive MVP. Sutton is a Wyoming Cowboy commit.

Sutton was productive emassing 1715 rushing yards and 17 TD's for Texas High School and caught the ball out of the backfield as well.

Topping the list for Sulphur Springs was the Most Valuable Player in district on defense, Sharard Timmons.

Twice Timmons intercepted a pass and returned them for scores. Timmons had seven interceptions and 94 tackles in a very productive year at safety. For his career he has 11 interceptions.

The district coaches recognized Gary Kinne and the Sherman staff as the Staff of the Year. The Bearcats (10-2) had a 55-34 season-ending loss to West Mesquite at Cowboys Stadium in the area round of the Class 4A Division I playoffs.



    Nathan James SR Sherman

  • Offensive MVP:
    Kody Sutton SR Texas High

  • Defensive MVP:
    Sharard Timmons SR Sulphur Springs

  • Sophomores of the Year:
    Offense: **Joseph Harvey** WR Sherman
    Defense: Kahlee Woods ILB Sherman

  • Coaching Staff of the Year:

  • All-District Special Teams:
    1st Team
    Kicker Eric Hosek SR Sherman
    Blake Macek JR Sulphur Springs
    Levi Saxby SR Texas High
    Alvin Frazier SR Sulphur Springs

    2nd Team
    Michael Stanley SO Texas High
    Michael Riskey SR Greenville
    Arredondo JR Royse City
    Returner Ryan Reid JR Sherman

    All-District Offense

    1st Team

    **Thor Long** SR Sherman

    Running Back
    Jonathon Burns SR Royse City
    Zac Whitfield SR Sherman
    Kendrick Daniels JR Sulphur Springs

    Taylor Pollock SR Royse City
    Caleb Adams SR Texas High

    Wide Receiver
    **Brandon Welch** SR Texas High
    **Jake Horbacz** JR Royse City
    Zack Daniel SR Denison
    Alvin Frazier SR Sulphur Springs

    Offensive Line
    Hunter Williams SR Royse City
    Chris Sorley SR Sulphur Springs
    Tyler Halerumal SR Sulphur Springs
    Dorian Hooks SR Texas High
    John Michael McGee JR Texas High
    Chris McCurrin JR Sherman
    Conner Counce JR Denison

    2nd Team

    Justin Owens JR Sulphur Springs

    Running Backs
    Stephen Julian SR Mount Pleasant
    Alfred Champion JR Greenville
    Dadrian Smith JR Sulphur Springs

    Justin Casselberry JR Greenville

    Wide Receivers
    Tory Minor SR Sherman
    Joseph Thurman SR Texas High
    Jaquentin Patt JR Greenville
    Cody Clayton Jr Sulphur Springs

    Offensive Line
    Jose Ramirez SR Royse City
    Chad Evans SR Sulphur Springs
    Charleston Antwine SR Texas High
    Jalen Stephens SR Mount Pleasant
    Grayson Russell SR Mount Pleasant
    Garrison King SR Denison
    Kolton Emmons SR Greenville
    Darius Stephenson JR Sherman
    Nelson Thomas JR Texas High
    Jamarcus Watson JR Texas High

    All-District Defense
    1st Team

    Defensive Tackle
    **Diego Mingura** JR Sherman
    Antone Milton SO Sulphur Springs
    Defensive End Kyle Crick SR Sherman
    Johnson Bryant SR Texas High

    Inside Linebackers
    **Blake McCown** JR Texas High
    Joe Scott SR Sulphur Springs

    Outside Linebackers
    Benny Blaize SR Mount Pleasant
    Hayden Chapman JR Denison
    Travis Turner JR Texas High

    Montrell Sommers SR Sherman
    Breon Matlock SR Texas High
    Tre' Dean JR Sulphur Springs
    Safeties Kevin Crick SR Sherman
    Ryan Reid JR Sherman
    Shelby Davis JR Texas High

    2nd Team

    Defensive Tackle
    Robert Gay SR Sherman
    Richard McKinney JR Denison

    Defensive End
    Edwin Hooper SR Texas High
    Malcolm Wright SR Denison
    Brody Johnston SR Royse City

    Inside Linebackers
    Dorian Lott SR Texas High
    Tony Rios JR Greenville
    Damion Foster JR Royse City

    Outside Linebackers
    Tanner Gilbreath SR Sulphur Springs
    Terrance Nelson SR Texas High
    JR Arredondo JR Royse City
    Braylon Mitchell JR Sherman

    Dylan Funderburk SR Royse City
    Carlos Clark SR Texas High
    Khori Jones SR Mount Pleasant

    Michael Riskey SR Greenville
    George Green SR Sulphur Springs
    Cavyn Pence JR Royse City
    Jalen Jones JR Texas High



    Latest Headlines:

    Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
    Site-specific editorial/photos TigerBait.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
    About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

    Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.