Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Text Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

August 25, 2012

Cats name captains

EVANSTON, Ill. -- Following a team vote on Thursday, Northwestern Football today announced the four individuals who will serve as captains for the Wildcats during the upcoming 2012 campaign. The group consists of three seniors -- offensive lineman Brian Mulroe (Glenview, Ill./Loyola Academy), defensive lineman Brian Arnfelt (Lake Elmo, Minn./Stillwater) and linebacker David Nwabuisi (Houston, Texas/Episcopal) -- as well as junior quarterback Kain Colter (Denver, Colo./Cherry Creek).

Head coach Pat Fitzgerald announced the quartet to a strong showing of Wildcats fans at Meet the Team Night Friday evening at Ryan Field. All four are first-time captains for NU.

"Very similar to everything we do, I think it's important for the players to have their voice heard," Fitzgerald said. "The guys that they respect and believe in should be captains. We believe in doing it after camp, after we've gone through all the preparation phases we can go through. By now the guys know exactly the most respected and trusted individuals on the team that will be given the honor and responsibility of being team captain."

Northwestern opens the season Saturday, Sept. 1 at Syracuse (11 a.m. CT) before making its Ryan Field debut in primetime vs. Vanderbilt on Sept. 8. Season and group tickets for all seven Northwestern home games are available by calling 888-GO-PURPLE or by accessing NU's online ticketing center.



Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos TigerBait.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.