Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 16, 2013

Landry named LSU MVP

BATON ROUGE - Wide receiver Jarvis Landry was named the recipient of the Charles McClendon Award as LSU's most valuable player here Sunday night at the annual LSU Football Banquet.

Landry was one of many Tigers honored as LSU celebrated its 9-3 season and a No. 14 national ranking in 2013. The Tigers will go after win No. 10 on Jan. 1 against Iowa in the Outback Bowl in Tampa.

Landry led one of the most explosive offenses in school history by catching 75 passes for 1,172 yards and 10 touchdowns. LSU's offense ranked among the league leaders in scoring (37.2), total offense (465.9) and passing offense (265.1). The Tigers also led the nation in third-down percentage as LSU converted 59 percent (82-of-140) of its third-down opportunities.

LSU commit Davon Godchaux ahead of schedule

The Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Offensive Award was shared by wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. and running back Jeremy Hill. Beckham Jr. caught 57 passes for 1,117 yards and eight scores, while Hill ranked second in the SEC in rushing yards (1,185) and rushing TDs (14).

Defensive tackle Ego Ferguson was named the Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Defensive Player for the Tigers. Ferguson, in his first year as a starter, had 58 tackles, 3.5 tackles for loss and a sack for an LSU defense that ranked fourth in the SEC in yards allowed at 349.7 per game.

Road test next up for Tigers

The National L-Club permanent team captains were awarded to quarterback Zach Mettenberger and Landry on offense, linebacker Lamin Barrow on defense and James Wright on special teams.

Barrow and safety Craig Loston Reid were named the winners of the George Wallace Memorial Award, which goes to the players who distinguished themselves by performance, leadership and commitment to the team. Barrow led the team with 86 tackles, while Loston had 51 tackles and a pair of interceptions.

Alfred Blue, kicker James Hairston and kicker Colby Delahoussaye were named the recipients of the Special Teams Coaches Award, while Wright was named the winner of the Wild Tiger Championship Trophy for accumulating the most production points on special teams coverage units.

5-star WR Malachi Dupre discusses recruiting

Seth Fruge, who graduates on Friday with a 3.8 grade point average, received the Dr. Charles E. Coates Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award.

The Butch Duhe Award, which goes to those players who personify the idea of unselfishness, dependability and commitment to the team, was given to Blue, running back Terrence Magee, offensive tackle La'el Collins, defensive ends Danielle Hunter and Jermauria Rasco.

Rivals100 DE Gerald Willis discusses recruiting

Other awards handed out on the banquet on Sunday night include: center Elliott Porter, fullback Connor Neighbors, and running back Jarrett Fobbs as recipients of the Jeff Boss Unsung Hero Award; Barrow, Wright and wide receiver Kadron Boone as the winners of the Alvin Roy Strength and Conditioning Award; and cornerback Rashard Robinson, cornerback Tre'Davious White, center Ethan Pocic and defensive tackle Christian LaCouture as the winners of the LSU Newcomer Award.



Latest Headlines:


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos TigerBait.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.