Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Text Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

June 12, 2007

Slauson named to Outland Trophy watch list

Nebraska offensive tackle Matt Slauson was named to the 2007 Outland Trophy Watch List by the Football Writers Association of America on Tuesday. Slauson is one of 41 linemen earmarked for the honor, which is awarded to the top interior lineman.

Slauson started in 11 games at right tackle for the Huskers in his sophomore season, earning second-team All-Big 12 honors and developing into one of NU's most experienced linemen for the 2007 season.

Slauson, who has made 14 career starts at Nebraska, switched positions this spring, spending much of his time at right guard and could push for the starting slot at that position this fall.

Nebraska has a national-best eight Outland Trophy winners, with Aaron Taylor earning the most recent one following the 1997 season. Seven Husker football players have claimed the trophy since its inception in 1946, with center Dave Rimington being the only player in history to win it twice (1981-82).

The 2007 Outland Trophy will be presented by the FWAA in a banquet in Omaha next January. The Outland Trophy is named for the late John Outland, a former lineman for Pennsylvania. Joe Thomas of Wisconsin won the award in 2006. Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season, with tackles, guards and centers being eligible for consideration.



Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos TigerBait.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.