Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Text Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 7, 2007

Gala winners announced

Thomas Brown, Dannell Ellerbe, Brandon Coutu and Knowshon Moreno were the big winners during Georgia's annual team Gala Friday night at the Classic Center.

Brown was named the team Most Valuable Offensive Player, Moreno the Vince Dooley Award Most Valuable Player, Coutu the Special Team's Player of the Year and Ellerbe the Most Valuable Defensive Player.

Other winners include senior tailback Kregg Lumpkin, who was tabbed the winner of the David Jacobs Award, which goes to the player who leads by example and portrays courage, spirit and character and determination.

Senior center Fernando Velasco was named the team's permanent overall captain, with Brown the offensive captain and senior safety Kelin Johnson the defensive captain. Coutu was named the special team's captain.

Brown and Velasco were co-winners of the Leon Farmer Award for dedication to strength and conditioning.

Outstanding Scout Team awards were given to Justin Lyles, Justin Fields, Wes Jacobs and Chad Gloer.

Tight end Tripp Chandler, defensive tackle Geno Atkins and punter Brian Mimbs were winners of the Most Improved awards.

Newcomer of the Year awards went to offensive tackle Trinton Sturdivant, guard Clint Boling, linebacker Rennie Curran, linebacker Akeem Dent, cornerback Vance Cuff and fullback Shaun Chapas.

Linebacker Chris Gaunder was named the Senior Scholar Award winner, while Sean Bailey, Chapas, Kris Durham, Gaunder, Mikey Henderson, Lyles, Mimbs, Mitchell Pittman and Matthew Stafford were honored as All-SEC Academic recipients.



Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos TigerBait.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.