Anatomy of two record streaks

Barring the greatest upset in the history of LSU football, the Tigers will set a couple of impressive records against Idaho on Saturday night.
By defeating the Vandals this week, LSU will set the NCAA FBS record for consecutive non-conference regular-season victories. The Tigers will extend that winning streak to 40 games by knocking off Idaho. Currently, LSU shares the record with Kansas State (1993-2003).
In addition, the Tigers will win their 20th consecutive home game by beating the Vandals. LSU also won 19 straight games at Tiger Stadium from 2005-2007. Les Miles has been the LSU coach during both of these long home winning streaks.
In the 39-game regular-season non-conference winning streak, all but seven of the victories have taken place in Tiger Stadium. LSU has outscored the opponents by an average score of 40-10 during this streak. Sun Belt Conference teams have been beaten 13 times during the streak.
Only five of the games have been decided by seven points or less. The Tigers have won 11 games against BCS conference teams - six being ranked at the time of the contest. LSU's last defeat to a non-conference in the regular season came against Virginia Tech in the 2002 season-opener.
During its current 19-game Tiger Stadium winning streak, LSU has outscored its opponents by an average score of 36-12. Ten of the victories have come against a Southeastern Conference team. In this streak, there have been seven victories against non-BCS conference teams, including two FCS squads.
Only four of the 19 victories have been by a margin of seven points or less. Moreover, the Tigers have five victories against teams ranked at the time of the game. LSU's last loss at home came against Florida in 2009.
Here is a breakdown of the two winning streaks.
BCS conference opponents: Arizona (2003, 2006), Oregon State (2004), Arizona State (2005), Virginia Tech (2007), Washington (2009, 2012), North Carolina (2010), West Virginia (2010-11), Oregon (2011).
In-state opponents: Louisiana-Lafayette (2002, 2006, 2009), Louisiana-Monroe (2003, 2010), Louisiana Tech (2003, 2007, 2009), Tulane (2006-07-08-09), McNeese State (2010), Northwestern State (2011).
Away opponents: Arizona (2003), Arizona State (2005), Tulane (2007), Washington (2009), North Carolina (2010/Atlanta), Oregon (2011/Arlington, Tex.), West Virginia (2011).
FCS opponents: The Citadel (2002), Western Illinois (2003), Appalachian State (2005, 2008), McNeese State (2010), Northwestern State (2011).
Ranked opponents: No. 15 Arizona State (2005), No. 9 Virginia Tech (2007), No. 18 North Carolina (2010), No. 22 West Virginia (2010), No. 3 Oregon (2011), No. 16 West Virginia (2011).
Games decided by seven points or less: Oregon State (22-21/2004), Troy (24-20/2004), Arizona State (35-31/2005), North Carolina (30-24/2010), West Virginia (20-14/2010).
SEC opponents: Auburn (2009, 2011), Arkansas (2009, 2011), Mississippi State (2010), Tennessee (2010), Alabama (2010), Ole Miss (2010), Kentucky (2011), Florida (2011).
Non-SEC BCS conference opponents: West Virginia (2010), Washington (2012).
Non-BCS conference opponents: Tulane (2009), Louisiana Tech (2009), McNeese State (2010), Louisiana-Monroe (2010), Northwestern State (2011), Western Kentucky (2011), North Texas (2012).
Ranked opponents: No. 22 West Virginia (2010), No. 5 Alabama (2010), No. 17 Florida (2011), No. 19 Auburn (2011), No. 3 Arkansas (2011).
Games decided by seven points or less: Arkansas (33-30/2009), West Virginia (20-14/2010), Tennessee (16-14/2010), Alabama (24021/2010).