OBryant first team All-SEC

BATON ROUGE - LSU sophomore forward Johnny O'Bryant III was named Tuesday First Team All-Southeastern Conference as selected by the coaches in voting following the conclusion of regular season play.
O'Bryant III, who hails from Cleveland, Miss., is the first Tiger to be first team All-SEC since both Tasmin Mitchell and Marcus Thornton were named to the first-team by the coaches in 2009.
Hickey, a sophomore from Hopkinsville, Ky., was named to the SEC All-Defensive Team and that is also the first time an LSU player has made that team since 2009.
JOB III was one of eight first-team players chosen by the league coaches, who could not vote for their own players. O'Bryant III leads the team in scoring and rebounding at 13.8 points per game and 8.8 rebounds. He was even better in the 18 league games at 14.7 points per game and 9.4 rebounds. He is fourth overall in the SEC in rebounds and second in the league in SEC rebound average. He is third in the league in field goal percentage at 49.3 percent.
O'Bryant III is also tied for the lead league in double doubles with 14 with 11 of those coming in league play.
Hickey has led the nation from the start of the season in steals, presently at 3.1 a game. He is tied with the fourth most steals in a season at LSU with 83 and is trying to become just the fifth player in league history to average 3.0 steals a season. The former Mr. Basketball in Kentucky has certainly helped LSU on the scoring end as well. Averaging 11.8 points per game and 3.8 assists overall, while averaging 12.3 points per game and 3.7 assists in league pay.
The Tigers begin play Thursday at noon in the Southeastern Conference Tournament at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville when they take on Georgia. The game will be seen on the affiliates of the SEC Network and the game will be broadcast on the affiliates of the LSU Sports Radio Network.
Here is the entire list of SEC award winners as chosen by the coaches (coaches voted on eight member teams for First Team All-SEC, Second Team All-SEC and for the SEC All-Freshman Team. They voted on a five-player squad for the SEC All-Defensive Team. They were not permitted to vote for their own players and ties were not broken):
First Team All-SEC
Trevor Releford, Alabama - G, 6-1, 195, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
Erik Murphy, Florida - F/C, 6-10, 238, Sr., South Kingstown, R.I.
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia - G, 6-5, 205, So., Greenville, Ga.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky - F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.
Johnny O'Bryant III, LSU - F, 6-9, 256, So., Cleveland, Miss.
Phil Pressey, Missouri - G, 5-11, 175, Jr., Dallas, Texas
Jordan McRae, Tennessee - G, 6-5, 178, Jr., Midway, Ga.
Elston Turner, Texas A&M - G, 6-5, 209, Sr., Sacramento, Calif.
Second Team All-SEC
Marshawn Powell, Arkansas - F, 6-7, 240, Jr., Newport News, Va.
BJ Young, Arkansas - G, 6-3, 180, So, St. Louis, Mo.
Kenny Boynton, Florida - G, 6-2, 190, Sr., Pompano Beach, Fla.
^Mike Rosario, Florida - G, 6-3, 183, Sr., Jersey City, N.J.
^Patric Young, Florida - C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.
Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss - G, 6-2, 175, Jr., Hurst, Texas
Murphy Holloway, Ole Miss - F, 6-7, 240, Sr., Irmo, S.C.
Laurence Bowers, Missouri - F, 6-8, 227, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.
Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee - F, 6-8, 270, So., Memphis, Tenn.
SEC All-Freshman Team
Michael Frazier II, Florida - G, 6-4, 200, Fr., Tampa, Fla.
Charles Mann, Georgia - G, 6-4, 205, Fr., Alpharetta, Ga.
^Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky - F, 7-0, 244, Fr., Olathe, Kan.
Archie Goodwin, Kentucky - G, 6-4.5, 198, Fr., Little Rock, Ark.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky - F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.
^Alex Poythress, Kentucky - F, 6-7, 239, Fr., Clarksville, Tenn.
Craig Sword, Mississippi State - G, 6-3, 189, Fr., Montgomery, Ala.
^Gavin Ware, Mississippi State - F, 6-9, 270, Fr., Starkville, Miss.
Michael Carrera, South Carolina - F, 6-5, 212, Fr., Anzoátegui, Venezuela
SEC All-Defensive Team
^Trevor Releford, Alabama - G, 6-1, 185, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.
Scottie Wilbekin, Florida - G, 6-2, 176, Jr., Gainesville, Fla.
^Patric Young, Florida - C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky - F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.
Anthony Hickey, LSU - G, 5-11, 178, So., Hopkinsville, Ky.
Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss - F, 6-9, 235, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.
^-Ties are not broken
SEC Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan, Florida
SEC Player of the Year: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia
SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Patric Young, Florida
SEC Freshman of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky
SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer, Kentucky
SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky